Meeting Schedule

Regular meetings of the Tallahassee Historical Society are held the second Thursday of each month, October through May. Our monthly meetings feature guest speakers on a variety of topics related to local and state history.  Meetings are preceded by socializing and snacks and the meetings include Society business and our guest speaker.

Current members will receive upcoming program details by email. Not a member? Join today!

Join us for our 2023-24 season and commemorate Tallahassee’s Bicentennial!

Upcoming 2023-24 Meetings

​*Thursday, October 12:

Speaker: Panel Discussion on Marketing the Bicentennial with Kerri Post, Visit Tallahassee, Jay
Revell, Revell Media, and others

 

*Thursday, November 9:

Speakers: Beth McGrotha and Bernice Proctor Venable
“Antonio Proctor: the indispensable man for Williams and Simmons”

​*Thursday, December 14:

Christmas Dinner
Speaker: Barbara Mattick, Public Historian, Division of Historic Resources
“Papists and Heretics in Post-Civil War Florida”

*Thursday, January 11:

Speakers: Delaitre Hollinger and Jaqueline Perkins
“Touring Tallahassee’s Virtual Civil Rights Museum”

*Thursday, February 8:

Speakers: Speaker: Diane Roberts, nationally-known journalist and professor of English, FSU
“Florida, the Dream State Reconsidered”

Friday, February 23—Sunday, February 25:

Tallahassee Historical Society Bicentennial Antiquarian Book Fair
The Elks Club, 276 Magnolia Drive

*Thursday, March 14:

Speakers: Sandi Brooks, Doug Alderson, Claude Kenneson and others
“Collecting Tallahassee Kitsch”
*Note: all attendees are urged to bring their favorite Tallahassee collectibles

Thursday, March 21 & Friday, March 22:

Mission San Luis
Tallahassee Historical Society Bicentennial Historians’ Conference

Saturday, March 23:

Kleman Plaza, 10 am—2 pm
Third Annual History Festival and Expo

Thursday, April 4:

Intersection of Martin Luther King Blvd. & 7th Avenue, 4:30 pm
Historical Marker Unveiling – “Middle Florida Fairgrounds and Horse-Racing Track”

Saturday, April 5 & Sunday April 6:

Springtime Tallahassee
Jubilee in the Park
Downtown Tallahassee

*Thursday, April 11:

Speaker: Marcus Curtis of the Tallahassee Leon County Geographic Information Systems
“GIS and History”

Saturday, April 13:

Field Trip to Prospect Bluff

Saturday, April 20 & Sunday, April 21:

LeMoyne Chain of Parks Art Festival
Downtown Tallahassee

Friday, April 26—Sunday, April 28:

Word of South
Cascades Park

*Thursday, May 9:

THS Business Meeting and Picnic
Speaker: Gloria Jefferson Anderson and Hunter Hill

“When Freedom Came: Celebrations of Freedom in Leon County, 1865 – Present”

Thursday, May 16 – Saturday, May 18:

Florida Historical Society Public History Forum and Tallahassee Historical Society Bicentennial Conference
Sheraton Four Points Hotel

May 17th Speaker: Mary E. Adkins
“Florida Constitutional Law: Cases in Context”

Monday, May 20:

Emancipation Day
Knott House, 311 East Park Avenue

All monthly meetings (*) will be held at Mission San Luis
(2100 W. Tennessee St, Tallahassee, FL)
Reception at 5:30 PM
Program at 6:00 PM

Support the Tallahassee Historical Society’s mission today... Donate or become a member!

X